After an accident

The Oct 1 Lamma Island ferry collision tragedy had brought about great shock and sorrow to anyone who read the news.

Disaster victims usually show post-traumatic stress responses including recurrent intrusive images of the accident, avoidant to thoughts, places or events that might lead to recollection of the incident, irritability, numbness, sleep disturbance, difficulties concentrating, senses of withdrawal and estrangement. Apart from stress responses, those who lost their loved ones might also experience grief reactions such as denial, self-blame, guilt, anger, depression and craving for the loved ones.

These psychological responses are normal if happen shortly after the accident. Most people could get over them gradually and restore normal lives. For those who are impacted by the accident, please allow time to process and face the stress responses and lost. Halt reading about the news or related information for the time being and engage in activities might bring more peaceful or pleasurable feelings and progressively reinstate normal routines. If the psychological responses persist for more than a month or have been affecting your normal functioning, seeking professional advices would be helpful to alleviate the symptoms. 

When it comes to the unexpected, it’s natural that our senses of security felt shattered and we start to question the value and meaning of life. These few days, memorial services were held in different districts and organizations. The silent moments of tribute not only allow us to express mourning to the deceased, offer support to the survivors but also to sink in and ponder on the meaning of life for ourselves.

Life might be unpredictable, but we could still savor every moment and treasure what we have.

意外之後

10月1 日南丫島撞船事故發生後,相信不少看到新聞的人都會為遇難者的遭遇同感驚懼,為痛失家人的家庭同感哀傷。

災禍遇難者一般都會出現一些創傷後的壓力反應,包括腦海中重覆出現意外時的景象、逃避與意外有關的事物、出現焦躁不安、容易驚嚇、易怒又或者麻木的情緒、失眠、難以集中精神、有退縮及疏離感等。另外,除了壓力反應,失去親人的倖存者亦會出現哀傷的反應,如逃避或否定事實、自責內疚、重覆思考失去親人時的片段、憤怒、悲傷、思念等。

這些身心反應在災後短期內發生都屬正常,大部分的人都會慢慢平伏,續步回復正常生活。如果自己或親友受這次事故困擾,請容讓時間及空間去處理情緒反應及面對失落,亦可以暫時限制接收有關資訊,投入一些令心情平靜或愉快的活動,並慢慢回復生活規律。不過,如果這些情緒反應持續一個月或以上,或情況已影響正常生活,就需要尋求專業協助。

突如其來的事故,震盪了我們每個人對生命的安全感。所謂意料之外,對於出乎人預料、常規的事情,人總難免受到震撼,懷疑生命的意義及價值。這幾天,全港各區、各機構都舉行默哀及悼念儀式,這些靜默的片刻,都為我們提供一些空間,為逝者寄予祝福,為意外的倖存者及親友送上支持,亦為自己靜思生命的真義。

生命也許無常,但我們仍能享受每一個當下,珍惜目前。