Why wanna be “Brides wannabes”?

In the past month, one of the most frequently asked questions over the dinner tables was probably “Have you watched Brides wannabes?”. “Brides wannabes”, a local TV reality show, in which a group of single women received a series of trainings and make-overs from coaches in the hope to secure a husband. The show hit high viewership rate and aroused heated debates in the society.

In traditional society, women had rather restricted choices in their lives. Their social values were largely determined by marriages. Thus, getting married was considered a must; and single women were being called names which implicated a meaning of being unwanted and left-over. 

Industrialization and modernization generated a great demand for labors. Women entered the labor market and progressively were opened with more opportunities. Together with the feminist movement starting from the 40s, improvement in education and job opportunities, social involvement such as the right to vote, to mobilize resources were seen. Women are more able to live their lives on own free will.

Nowadays, regardless of the advancement in gender equality, stereotypes on women’s gender role still prosper. When you turn on the TV, flip through newspaper or magazines, surf on the internet, you could still find lots of unfair oppressions. For example, single women are called “Left-over Women” or “Makeinu” (originated from Japan, translates to “loser dog”), while single males are called “Hot Property”; women with high education, income and job titles are called “3-Highs Hong Kong Women”, which are considered major barriers of getting married. These labels might sound funny, but the shadow cast on the self-worth, opportunities and social values among women, has been hindering women’s development.

Don’t think that the idea of “men as breadwinners and women as homemakers” is anything but obsolete; it’s still upheld in our everyday modern life. Full-time working women are still taking more responsibilities in household chores and child-rearing than their male counterparts, thus the phenomenon of dual-role women and the problem of role overload; unequal pay for equal work, until now, still could not be eliminated.

When it comes to the issue of gender equality, there is a lot of room for us to think about. Unfortunately, ideas which reinforce women’s gender roles are not without their supporters. Let’s wish one day our society could breakthrough the stereotype and bestow the freedom to individual woman-- Brides, to be or not to be.

「盛女」為何作戰?

最近,茶餘飯後,最常聽到的一個問題是「你有冇睇盛女?」。「盛女愛作戰」一個真人騷節目,講一班單身女性如何在導師的批評指點下,改造自己,以求覓得如意郎君。節目收視率很高,大家都熱烈討論著參加者的外貌姿態?哪個導師教的秘技是否有用?哪些參加者是否「做媒」?哪一個參加者會找到真命天子?

傳統社會,女性的命運無甚選擇,一生的成敗得失都要靠婚姻維持,故此「嫁人」成為人生必然安排,「嫁唔出」的女性就差不多沒有價值,故會被稱為「賣剩庶」、「攝灶隙」,都有剩下來、沒有價值的意思。

工業化及現代化的社會需要大量生產力,女性加入勞動市場,生活也就有了較多機會及選擇。加上40年代以後的女性主義運動,女性的教育機會、工作機會、社會參與包括投票權、資源使用等亦續步開放。女性總算是可以憑自己的能力,享受生活自主自由的權利。

可是,現代社會,對女性性別角色定形仍然強壯。看看電視節目、揭揭報章雜誌、上上網,你還是可以看到許多不平等的規條。譬如,未婚的成年女性叫「剩女」、「敗犬」、男性卻叫「筍盤」; 「高學歷」、「高收入」、「高職位」的女性叫「三高港女」,將未婚歸咎為女性個人責任。試想想,為什麼同樣是靠個人能力及付出去貢獻社會,女性的社會價值卻要受一些其不能自控或無關宏旨的因素被貶抑呢?標籤看似有趣,但卻是一把無形的枷鎖,壓抑女性自我價值及公平發展的機會。

別以為「男主外,女主內」這想法很老土,它仍滲透於我們的日常生活中。同樣是全職工作,家庭中家務及照顧子女的時間及責任,通常仍落到女性肩上,造成雙職婦女角色超載的現象。到現時為止,男女同工不同酬問題仍然未能消除。

作為一個講平權平等的社會,男女不平等現象,仍有許多值得我們反思的地方。可恨的是,這些對於女性價值不公平的說法及標籤,仍然不乏支持者,我們信手拈來就可以在媒體文字中找出許許多多的例子。

希望我們的社會能進一步突破性別角色定形,讓香港的女性(及男性) 按自己的能力、需要及生活環境自由選擇自己的人生道路,不需再為標籤爭扎,而為自己的生活而戰﹗