Those were the days

The record-breaking Taiwanese romance "You are the apple of my eye", which depicts the movie director's own high school love story, brings around a current of reminiscence in the city. Writings and videos titled "Those were the days….." flourished on social network wall posts, blogs and websites. Unknowingly, we all slip into the time tunnel, yearning for the memories of the good old days.

MEMORY is an important storage space of our personal experiences. Without it, we would probably lose our sense of self.

Yet, interestingly, memory is barely accurate. Have you ever had the experience when you are so sure about something you remembered but later realize it could not have happened? 

To investigate memory functioning, psychologists conducted an experiment. They showed a video in which there was a car accident at a "STOP" sign to a group of participants. Later, some of the participants were asked a question about a "YIELD" sign: "How fast was the car going when it reached the YIELD sign?". A week later, all participants were invited to recall the video. Most of those who were asked the misleading question falsely remembered that the cars crashed at a "YIELD" sign.

This is what we called "Constructive Memory" in psychology. Human memory storage system works very differently from computer hard disc. Memory is not stored in a particular drive. Instead, different sensations of an event like visual images, sounds, speech are stored in different parts of the brain. And when we recall the event, our brain would uncover these bits and pieces and integrate them into a meaningful story. The process of integration is highly susceptible to our mood, expectations and new knowledge or experience. In the experiment we discussed, the participants had falsely integrated the information of "YIELD" sign from the misleading questions to the accident.

Therefore, every time when we summon up, information would go through the integration process again and be given new meanings.

May be 10 years later, the memories of our good old days would be a totally different narrative?

那些年,我們……

電影< 那些年,我們一起追的女孩> 引起一股懷緬熱潮。這幾個月,無論走到那裡,我們都聽到許多人在談論自己的那些年,社交網站、部落格、大小網頁上紛紛出現各式各樣以那些年為題的短片、文章,我們不知不覺的都進入時光隧道,為惜日美好的或錯失的光陰,感嘆不已。

回憶,是一個人人生經歷的重要貯存庫,沒有回憶,我們就會失去自我。

可有趣的是,人類的回憶幾乎都是不可靠的。你有沒有試過回想一些經歷的時候,你本來肯定是真確的片段,後來發覺完全錯誤的呢?

心理學家曾經做過一個實驗,他們讓參加者看一段車禍的影片。影片中,兩車在一個標記「停」字的路牌相撞。看完影片後,其中一批受訪者需要回答一個問題: 「當兩車在『讓』字路牌相撞時,你估計它們當時的車速是多少?」。一星期後,全部受訪者被要求覆述影片內容,其中曾經回答車速問題的受訪者回憶的時候,都被問題誤導,說記得兩車是在「讓」字的路牌相撞的。

心理學家稱這個現象為建構式記憶。人類的記憶系統並非如電腦硬碟,回憶的過程亦與我們從電腦記憶體讀取資料非常不同。每當我們有新的經歷的時候,我們的大腦不同的部分都會同時進行貯存,一些部分貯存影像、一些部分貯存聲音、一些則貯存事件的意義。當回憶事情的時候,大腦就需要讀取所有有關的材料,並進行整合,才能得出一個完整的故事。可是,整合 的過程往往受到許多不同因素影響,如我們當時的心情、期望、觀點角度、新的知識及經驗等。在車禍實驗中,被誤導的受訪者就將「讓字路牌」這一個資料整合到回憶之中,錯誤以為影片中的車禍是發生於「讓字路牌」而非「停字路牌」。

因此,每次當憶起我們的那些年,我們又會重新把資料整合、填補,賦予新的意義。也許,10年之後我們再回顧的那些年,又會是一齣截然不同的電影了﹗