Don't Make Your Partner Put Up with Eating Fast Food
On 'Promotion of Mental Health'

 

After the Youtube video that depicted the ‘14 Slaps Hong Kong Girl Incident’, another Youtube video that went viral was the ‘Searching for a girlfriend who is willing to put up with eating fast food’. This video had accumulated over 1.7 million views globally, and became the most popular non-music Youtube video in Hong Kong in 2013. I believe many of you would have at least heard of this video even you might not have seen it.

 

If you found a partner who was willing to eat fast food with you for the rest of your life, then congratulations for finding the one who was willing to go through sufferings in life and poverty with you. But please remember, even if you really could find such a worthy partner, don’t make him/her eat fast food or junk food everyday, because this will not only undermine the physical health but also mental health!

 

An overseas study recruited 8964 people who did not have depression at the start of the study, and tracked their diets and depression statuses for 6 months. At the end of the study, it was found that the ones who ate the most fast food (e.g. pizza, hamburgers, hotdogs) and food high in trans fat (e.g. pastries, doughnuts, cakes, ice-cream) were 51% more likely to develop depression, compared to people who ate the least of these food.

 

Previous studies also showed a similar link. A past research had included more than 3000 middle-aged office workers (i.e. those who had little physical activity), and looked at their diet and depressive symptoms. Researchers found that people who ate more processed meat (e.g. sausages and ham), chocolates, sweet desserts, fried food, high-fat dairy products were more likely to report symptoms of depression. Another study found that in 945 men and women, those who had greater trans fat intake tended to be more irritable and were more aggressive.

 

The good news is that people who are more fruits, vegetables, and fish were less likely to report being depressed. This was consistent with previous studies that found people on healthydiets rich in fruits, vegetables, and fish had lower rates of Alzheimer's diseases, revealing the benefits of these food to our mental health.

 

Would you like to have a partner who is depressed and irritable everyday? For your partner’s mental health, please make sure your partner eats healthily, and don’t make him/her eat fast food and junk food everyday!

 

References:

The Huffington Post (2012). Junk Food Linked With Increased Depression Risk: Study.
Retrieved from 
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/03/31/junk-food-depression_n_1392093.html

 

Zeratsky, K. (n.d.). Junk food blues: Are depression and diet related? 
Retrieved from 
http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/depression-and-diet/AN02057

請別讓你的伴侶陪你「捱」麥記
促進精神健康篇

繼「十四巴港女」的Youtube片後,網絡上隨即竄紅了另一段名為「一生只想尋找一個肯『捱』麥記的女人」短片。這短片全球點擊率更累積超過170萬次,成為2013年度香港「非音樂影片」排行榜的榜首。相信很多人即使未看過也至少聽聞過這段短片。

如果你現實中真的能夠找到一位願意陪你「捱」麥記的伴侶,那麼恭喜你,恭喜你找到一位願意與你共患難、貧苦的另一半。但請記住,即使你真的找到如此「唔話得」的伴侶,也請別讓他/她天天「捱」麥記或「零食當正餐」,因為這不單有損身體健康,更有損精神健康!

外國有研究人員召集了8964名本身沒有患抑鬱症的人,經過六個月的追蹤,研究他們的飲食習慣以及抑鬱症徵狀的改變。六個月後,結果發現那些經常吃快餐(例如薄餅、漢堡包、熱狗)及含有反式脂肪的零食(例如一些酥餅、「冬甩」、蛋糕、雪糕等)的人,比起少吃以上食物的人,患上抑鬱症的比率高出51%!

這研究結果與過往類似的研究結果十分吻合。外國曾經研究超過3000名在辦公室工作(即是少體力勞動)的中年人的飲食習慣及抑鬱症徵狀。 結果發現那些吃較多加工肉類(例如火腿、香腸等醃製食品)、巧克力、甜品、油炸食品、以及高脂肪乳類食品等的人,會有較高機會有抑鬱症徵狀。 另一個研究更發現,在945名成年男女中,那些吃較多含有反式脂肪的食物的人相對起少吃的人,情緒比較暴躁,而且有更高的暴力傾向。

好消息是,研究也發現那些吃較多生果、蔬菜及魚的人會有較少抑鬱症徵狀。過往也曾有研究發現,多吃生果、蔬菜及魚的人患上腦退化症的比率較少吃這些食物的人為低,顯示這些食物對精神健康的益處。

你希望對著一位天天愁眉苦臉、心煩氣躁的伴侶嗎?為了你關心的人的精神健康著想,請讓對方吃得健康,別讓他/她天天「捱」麥記或「零食當正餐」啊!

 

參考資料:

The Huffington Post (2012). Junk Food Linked With Increased Depression Risk: Study.
Retrieved from http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/03/31/junk-food-depression_n_1392093.html

Zeratsky, K. (n.d.). Junk food blues: Are depression and diet related? 
Retrieved from http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/depression-and-diet/AN02057