You Who Came from the Stars
To Promote Social Inclusion

Not too long ago, the popularity of the Korean drama 'You Who Came from the Stars' made the leading male character 'Do Min-joon' the heartthrob of many Asian girls. He is a handsome and knowledgeable professor, at the same time possessing enhanced physical abilities involving his vision and hearing (for instance, he could hear Cheon Song-yi's singing through walls and felt very annoyed by it). Although he is very cold, distant, and not very communicative as an alien who landed on earth 400 years ago, he only has eyes for Cheon Song-yi (only falls for her in the 400 years on earth). These characteristics made Do Min-joon a best-wanted boyfriend among girls, who wish they could find their own 'Do Min-joon' in real life. But do you know that in reality, there are people who resemble Do Min-joon, who are also not very communicative, who have very fixated interest, and have hypersentivity to sensory stimulation?

 

Below is the description of some people on earth:

  • They tend to have deficits in social communication and interaction across all situations since young, including:
    • Deficits in social-emotional reciprocity: for example failure to initiate to social interactions (such as conversation with others); less responsive in communication, and reduced sharing of interests, emotions, or affect; or even failure to maintain normal back-and-forth conversation (e.g. when someone talks about A, s/he would only talk about B which s/he is interested in) [somewhat like Do Min-joon who is rather cool and not communicative]
    • Difficulties in understanding and using nonverbal communicative behaviors used for social interaction: they may have poor eye contact, having difficulties in understanding and using body language (for instance using less gestures to facilitate communication, including pointing, nodding/shaking head), or even lack of facial expression and gestures
    • Difficulty in building and maintaining friendship: they may not know how to adjust behaviours to suit various social contexts (for instance they may appear indifferent to others' crying, or they may bluntly point out others' flaws making people feel embarassed), they have difficulties making friends, or even lack interest in forming relationships with others
  • In addition, they may have restricted, repetitive patterns of behavior, interests, or activities since young:
    • For instance they may have repetitive actions or speech (e.g. lining up of objects)
    • They tend to insist on sameness, and reject changes (e.g. insisting to walk the same route to school everyday, if not s/he will get extremely upset)
    • They may have highly restricted, fixated interests (e.g. likes to study anything related to bus, and memorize all the bus routes; or extremely interested to study one subject matter like math/history, just like a 'little professor') [somewhat like Do Min-joon who studied various subjects in great depths over the past 400 years]
    • Some of them may even have hyper- or hyporeactivity to sensory input [just like Do Min-joon who is very sensitive to sound]

 

According to the Diagnostic and Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition (DSM 5), the 'bible' of psychiatry, people who possess most of the above characteristics are diagnosed to have Autism Spectrum Disorder. Coincidently, in China, people call children with autism spectrum disorder 'children of the stars', because no matter how hard people around these children try to connect with them, there seem to be a barrier in between that makes these children difficult to be reached, just as the stars in the sky, they do not belong to any group.

 

So how can we treat these people of the stars? Unfortunately, until recently no effective prevention or cure has been identified.  But their social skills and behavioural problems can be effectively improved through social thinking/skills training and behavioural therapies.

 

Indeed, people from the stars do need love and care from other people, it is only their inborn deficit in expressing themselves and building relationships that makes other people feel uncomfortable, and thus distancing from them or even disliking them. If people around them can understand that people with autism are not deliberately making them feel bad, and can offer them patience, support, and guidance, we can remove the barrier between us and these people, and help them integrate into our world better.

 

Reference:

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders: DSM-5. Washington, D.C: American Psychiatric Association.

來「治」星星的你
促進共融篇

不久之前,一部名為「來自星星的你」的韓劇令一眾東南亞的女生都臣服於男主角「都敏俊」的魅力下。他不單是一位英俊且學識淵博的大學教授,他還擁有「超能力」,包括鷹的視力和狼的聽覺(連隔著牆也能聽到千頌伊唱歌而感到厭煩 )。雖然都敏俊於400年前從外星初到地球時比較不諳世事、為人也較cool、平時說話不多且直接,但他對女主角千頌伊非常專一(400年只愛一位女人)。這些特點都令一眾女生為都敏俊神暈顛倒,渴望在現實中找到屬於自己的都敏俊。但你們知道,地球上原來真的有跟都敏俊相似,比較不諳世事、不懂修飾說話/說話不多、對單一事物非常專一/堅持、有超敏銳感官這類人嗎?

 

以下是部份地球人的描述:

  • 他們自出生開始,在任何情境下,社交溝通及互動上都有障礙,包括:
    • 在情緒的互動(reciprocity)有困難:他們可能難以主動開始社交活動(例如談話);在溝通上較少回應,也較少跟人分享自己的興趣、感受、情感;甚至可能無法維持雙向的對談(例如別人談A他卻顧著談自己喜歡的B)[可能就像都敏俊一樣為人也較cool、平時說話不多]
    • 身體語言的理解及運用方面有困難:他們可能跟人說話時難以保持眼神接觸,難以理解及使用身體語言(例如較少用身體語言輔助溝通,包括用手指事物、點頭/搖頭等手勢及動作),有些甚至缺乏臉部表情及手勢
    • 發展及維持人際關係有困難:他們可能不懂得做出符合情境的適當行為(例如看到別人哭泣會無動於衷、不懂修飾說話而直接指出別人的過失/缺點因而令人感到尷尬),在交朋友方面有困難,甚至對人完全缺乏興趣。
  • 他們從小也會有些侷限、重複的行為、興趣及活動:
    • 例如會有重複性的言語,動作及使用物品(例如喜歡排列事物)
    • 也可能會過度堅持常規,極度抗拒改變(例如上學一定要走同一路線,否則會感到不高興甚至大發脾氣)
    • 可能會有非常侷限及固定的興趣,對於興趣極度的專注(例如很喜歡研究巴士,對所有巴士路線瞭如指掌;或者很喜歡專研一門學科如數學/歷史,猶如「小博士」般)[就像都敏俊400年來專注研究不同學科的知識]
    • 有些更會對於感覺刺激有異常(反應過敏/不足)[就像都敏俊一樣有超敏銳感官]

 

而根據被視為精神病學聖經的美國《精神疾病診斷與統計手冊 - 第五版》( DSM5),擁有以上特徵的人是被診斷為有自閉症。 無獨有偶,在中國,有人會稱患有自閉症的孩子為「星星的孩子」,因為對於患有自閉症的孩子,不管身邊人如何努力,似乎總有一道牆將孩子和世界其他人隔開,他就像是星星的孩子,遙不可及,不屬於任何團體。

 

那麼,我們該如何醫治星星的他們呢?很可惜,到現時為止,醫學界仍未能發現根治/預防自閉症的方法。但是透過社交思考/技巧訓練、行為治療,星星的孩子的社交能力、行為問題都能夠得到改善。

 

其實星星的人也需要人的愛與關心,只不過他們天生不懂得表達自己及與人建立關係,而往往令身邊人感到難受而疏遠甚至討厭他們。只要身邊人了解星星的他們並非故意令你們難受,對他們多點耐性、包容、支持、教導,我們也可以拉近與星星的他們的距離,讓他們融入地球的生活啊!

 

參考資料:

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders: DSM-5. Washington, D.C: American Psychiatric Association.