Inclusion Revolution

Recently, there are intense conflicts arising in our society. People with different political stances joined together, gave labels to represent themselves, and fought to preserve what they value in society. Some relatively radical persons would 'un-friend' or even attack those who hold different opinions from them. This phenomenon surprised many Hong Kong citizens, making them wonder how a difference in political stance could create such an intractable conflict, and why even friends and relatives could hardly discuss the issue calmly and listen to each others' opinions. Indeed, the above phenomena could be explained by some of the theories and concepts in social psychology.

 

Social psychologist William G. Sumner developed two important concepts ---- 'in-group' and 'out-group'. In-group refers to the group that a person psychologically identifies with as being a member, for instance your own class, or the political group that holds the same political ideologies as you. Members of in-group would help and cooperate with each other, or even evaluate each other more positively, and allocate more resources to each other (e.g. some people donated money and goods to people who share their political ideas). Such behaviour was coined as 'in-group favouritism'.

 

By contrast, an out-group is a social group with which an individual does not identify, for example classes other than own, people with different political ideas. Out-group is often being regarded as an opponent by members of the in-group. Especially when there is conflict of interest, when out-group is being seen as hindering the goal of the in-group, and when the out-group is seen as posing threat to members of the in-group. Under such circumstances, 'out-group derogation' would occur, resulting in stigma, aggressive behaviours, or even wars.

 

So what can we do to reduce biases and prejudices, and help reconcile such conflict in society? It was proposed by social psychologists that people tend to simplify the complex world by classifying people into categories, which would make people disregard individual differences, but form a set of characteristics to describe a group of people (e.g. 'Yellow ribbons are …', 'Blue ribbons are…', 'Policemen are…'), leading to discrimination and prejudice. To reduce such prejudice, people must come into contact with individual members of out-groups, discover similarities between individuals of out-group and themselves, so as to reduce biases and conflicts.

共融革命

最近社會上出現了相當大的矛盾。不同政見的人都團結起來,為自己的派別起不同的稱號,維護自己推崇的核心價值。有些比較激進的人士會在社交網站un-friend、甚至攻擊與自己持有不同政見的人。這些事情都讓香港人感到驚訝,為甚麼不同政治理念的人,能夠產生出這麼大的矛盾,並各不相讓以致陷入僵局呢?為甚麼即使是朋友親戚,大家都難以平心靜氣地溝通,聽取不同政見的人的意見呢?其實以上的現象,都能夠由社會心理學的理論及概念一一解釋得到。

 

社會心理學家William G. Sumner提出了兩個重要的概念 ── 內團體(in-group)及外團體(out-group)。內團體是指自己所屬的團隊(即是俗語的「自己人」),例如自己所屬的班級、持有相同政治理念的人。內團體的人會把彼此視為同類,會互相關懷、合作、幫助。而且內團體的人對彼此有較高的評價,以及願意把資源分配給成員(例如有人會捐錢或物資給與自己持有相同政見的人),這現象被稱為「內團體偏私」(in-group favouritism)。

 

而外團體就是剛剛相反,是指個人認為不是自己所屬的團隊,例如別的班級、持有不同政治理念的人。外團體通常是內團體對立的對象。當內外團體有利益關係衝突、內團體的成員認為外團體阻礙達到目的、或者內團體視外團體對自己的成員有威脅時,「外團體貶抑」就會發生(Outgroup derogation),包括歧視、侵略的行為、甚至發生戰爭。

 

如何可以化解彼此之間的偏見、矛盾,幫助彌補社會的撕裂呢?有社會心理學家提出由於人傾向以自動化及簡單化的方式把社會的人分類,變成會忽略個人差異,導致人對特定團體有一致性看法,導致偏見與歧視(例如「黃絲帶是⋯⋯的」、「藍絲帶是⋯⋯的」、「警察是⋯⋯的」)。要減少這種偏見,人必須與其他的團體成員持續地接觸,發現不同團體的人與自己的相似性,幫助消除對彼此的偏見,化解矛盾。