Challenging Your Intellect ---- What do you know about Intellectual Disability?

Some time ago, a wrong arrest made by the police aroused great public attention. Although the police were dutifully arresting a suspect, the public found their method of interrogation very questionable. Using leading questions in interrogation is prohibited, as it could lead to charges in innocent people, not to mention that the arrested person was an individual suffering from moderate intellectual disability (ID) and autism. Using leading questions on such mentally incapacitated individuals could cause them to wrongly admit charges. So what behaviours do individuals with ID display that help us differentiate them from people without it? What capabilities do these individuals have? And what do we need to take note of should we need to communicate with these individuals?

 

According to the Diagnostic and Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition (DSM 5), the 'bible' of psychiatry, ID is a kind of neurodevelopmental disorder. To diagnose a person with the disability, the person has to meet the following criteria:

  1. Deficits in intellectual functioning: intellectual functioning includes abilities such as problem-solving, reasoning, planning, judgment, and abstract thinking. These abilities in individuals with intellectual disability would be substantially below average when compared to people of their age (IQ 70 or below).
  2. Deficits in adaptive functioning: adaptive functioning refers to the ability to solve daily-life problems in the conceptual domain (including skills in reading and writing, math, and understanding and expressing language), social domain (including interpersonal communication skills, the ability to make and retain friendships), and practical domain (such as personal care, money management, use of public facilities, work-related skills).
  3. These limitations occur during the developmental period (i.e. during childhood or adolescence).

The severity of ID is diagnosed based on the level of impairment in adaptive functioning, which place individuals with the disability in 4 main categories: mild, moderate, severe, and profound.

If you have been reading the criteria carefully, you may notice that having odd facial features is NOT one of the diagnostic criteria. Some of the individuals with ID do have distinguishable facial features, such as those with Down’s Syndrome have upward-slanting eyes, flat noses, and larger and protruding tongues. In fact most individuals with ID look indistinguishable from typically-developing people (except those with severe and profound intellectual disability). The only difference is their significant difference in intellectual and adaptive abilities.

 

So what levels of abilities do people with varying severities of ID have? Below is a description by the 10th version of the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems (ICD-10), which is a medical classification list by the World Health Organization (WHO):

  1. Mild ID: Adults’ mental age ranges from 9 to under 12 years. They can acquire basic self-care skills (e.g. spontaneously wash-up, use public transport), but would likely have some learning difficulties in learning academic knowledge and expressing themselves. Vocational skills would also be weak. But many will be able to work and maintain good social relationships and contribute to society.
  2. Moderate ID: Adults’ mental age ranges from 6 to under 9 years. They would have very weak self-care abilities, and would require adult supervision and assistance. They can be capable of basic academic skills (e.g. basic arithmetic like addition and subtraction), but due to their significantly sub-average abilities they would not be suitable for mainstream schooling. Adults may be able to work under supervision in sheltered workshops, but their quality and productivity would be low, and will need varying degrees of support to live and work in the community.
  3. Severe ID: Adults’ mental age ranges from 3 to under 6 years. Self-care and academic learning skills are severely lacking, and they have very limited ability to communicate (e.g. single words). They would have continuous need for support in life.
  4. Profound ID: Adults have mental age of below 3 years. This results in severe limitation in self-care, continence, communication and mobility, and would require continuous support in life.

 

Based on the above descriptive, it is likely that the innocent ‘suspect’ was not able to comprehend the complex questions in the interrogation, and his responses were probably guesses or simply parroting the speech of policemen, and thus cannot be regarded as valid testimony. So what are some of the strategies to communicate more effectively with people with ID? Due to their limited capability in comprehending language, simple language should be used when giving them instructions or asking questions. Using communication aid (e.g. picture exchange communication system) can also help facilitate their communication. The more severe the disability is, the simpler the language you have to use for that individual.

 

Although their capabilities are limited, like any human being they also yearn to be accepted and treated nicely by people, and make friends with others. If you are able to understand and accept their limitations and build relationships with them based on their capabilities, you may discover the friendly sides of them!

 

References:

American Psychiatric Association., & American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders: DSM-5. Washington, D.C: American Psychiatric Association.

 

Hong Chi Association (2007). 親子溝通樂系列. Hong Kong: Hong Chi Association.

 

World Health Organization. (2010). International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems (10th revision). Retrieved from http://www.who.int/classifications/icd/icdonlineversions/en/

認識智障無障礙

早前發生了一宗警察「拉錯人」事件,惹起全城關注。當然,警方是盡責地拉了有嫌疑的人,但他們錄取口供的過程備受質疑。以「引導式問題」去錄取口供本身已經是不合符規則,因爲這樣會容易造成冤假錯案,更何況事主是一名患有中度智障及自閉症的男子?如果以引導式提問,會很容易引導精神上無行為能力的事主錯誤地承認控罪。事實上,「智障」的人會有什麽特徵及表現,讓我們識別到呢?患有智障的會缺乏能力至什麽程度?與患有智障的人相處及溝通時應該注意什麽地方?

 

根據被視為精神病學聖經的美國《精神疾病診斷與統計手冊 - 第五版》(DSM5),智力障礙(Intellectual Disability)為一種「腦發展疾病」。要診斷一個人爲智障,患者必須有以下特徵:

1.       智力遠低於一般水平:智力包括解決問題、推理、計劃、判斷、抽象思維等能力。智障患者在以上方面都顯著地低於同齡人的水平(IQ70或以下)。

2.       適應功能遠低於水平:適應功能是指處理日常生活問題的能力,包括概念的學習能力(如讀寫、計算、語言的理解及表達等)、社交能力(如與人溝通的能力、與人建立及維繫關係的能力等)、及實際生活能力(如自理、管理金錢、運用社區設施、職業技能等能力)。

3.       以上能力的缺陷於18歲之前初發。

而智障的程度則是基於適應功能的缺陷水平分爲輕度、中度、嚴重、及極嚴重4個等級。

聰明的你可能留意到,智障的特徵並不包括「奇特的臉相」。部分智障患者的臉相的確會有一些特徵,如唐氏綜合症的患者會有上揚的眼睛、小鼻子、較大而突出的舌頭。但其實大部分患者(除了嚴重級極嚴重智障的患者外)的臉相其實與一般人沒有大分別,唯一分別就是他們的智力與適應功能。

 

那麽,不同程度的智障患者的能力會達到什麽程度呢?以下是世界衛生組織所出版的「國際疾病傷害及死因分類標準第十版」(ICD-10)中對智障患者的描述:

1.       輕度智障:心智年齡約為9-12歲。有基本的自理能力(例如可以自動自覺梳洗、乘搭交通工具),學習能力及對於抽象的言語概念理解及表達會有困難,長大成人後工作能力也較弱。大多數患者也可以從事一些簡單(如勞動)的工作,與人維繫良好關係。

2.       中度智障:心智年齡約為6-9歲。自理能力薄弱,需要成人監督及協助去完成。能夠學習基本的知識(例如簡單的加減運算),但能力有限,不適合在主流學校讀書。溝通能力有明顯障礙,可使用簡單生活用語(例如食物名稱),但詞彙貧乏,不能夠理解抽象的語言概念。長大成人後可在庇護工場從事簡單的勞動工作,但質量會較低及效率會差,需要支援才能適應生活。

3.       嚴重智障:心智年齡約為3-6歲。缺乏自理能力、學習能力、只能作非常有限度的溝通(可能是說一些單詞),一生也需要依賴別人照顧。

4.       極嚴重智障:心智年齡為3歲以下。完全缺乏自理能力、學習能力、溝通能力,甚至會失禁、缺乏走動能力。一生也需要依賴別人照顧。

 

如果根據上述描述,「拉錯人」事件中的當事人很有可能對於警員的提問其實根本無法理解,作出的回應很有可能只是瞎猜或無意義的重覆性説話,不能視爲有效的口供。那麽,我們一般人如果想跟智障人士溝通,有什麽地方要注意呢?由於他們理解複雜及抽象的語言能力有限,故給他們指示或者問他們問題時必須使用簡單的説話。如果再配合手語或其他工具輔助(例如附有物件照片的溝通簿)溝通,會更有效幫助智障患者理解及表達。智障程度越嚴重者就越需要更簡單的語言,及更多的輔助促進與其他人的有效溝通。

 

雖然他們的能力有限,但他們與所有人一樣也希望得到大家的接納及友善的對待,能夠交到朋友。只要大家認識他們的特質,接受他們有限的能力,按他們的能力與他們溝通建立關係,就會慢慢發現他們率真、友善的一面啊!

 

參考資料:

American Psychiatric Association., & American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders: DSM-5. Washington, D.C: American Psychiatric Association.

 

World Health Organization. (2010). International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems (10th revision). Retrieved from http://www.who.int/classifications/icd/icdonlineversions/en/

 

匡智會 (2007):《親子溝通樂系列》,香港,匡智會。