Vow under the Rainbow

On 26th June 2015, the US Supreme Court gave one of the most important rulings in the history of America, giving gay and lesbian couples equal marriage rights. While some support same-sex marriages, some of course don’t. Those who oppose usually object on the grounds of religion, traditional family structure and morality, and procreation. But if you are opposing based on the reason of ‘Homosexuality is abnormal, and should be treated instead of granting homosexuals rights to marriage!’, then perhaps it’s time for you to update your mental-health knowledge.

 

Before we go further to discuss homosexuality, it is necessary to clarify the concept of ‘sexual orientation’. It refers to ‘an enduring pattern of emotional, romantic, and/or sexual attractions to men, women, or both sexes.’ sexual orientation is usually discussed in terms of three categories: heterosexual (having emotional, romantic, or sexual attractions to members of the other sex); gay/lesbian (having emotional, romantic, or sexual attractions to members of one’s own sex), and bisexual (having emotional, romantic, or sexual attractions to both men and women). So what causes a person to have a particular sexual orientation? Is it nature or nurture? Researchers have found that nature has some but not complete influence on one’s sexual orientation. Psychology professor Michael Bailey investigated homosexuality among brothers of his sample of homosexual or bisexual men, interviewing their identical twin brothers (sharing same genetic makeup), their fraternal twin brothers (sharing 50% of genetic makeup), and adoptive brothers (different genetic makeup). He found that 52 per cent of the identical twins were also homosexual, compared with 22 per cent of the fraternal twins and only 11 per cent of the adoptive brothers. The likelihood of a homosexual man having a homosexual brother increases with the degree of genetic relatedness. This suggests that there is a genetic contribution to homosexuality, but the cause is not entirely due to genes (since not nearly all of the identical twins are homosexuals), nurture plays a role too (e.g. childhood / teenage experiences, socio-cultural environment). Currently, there is no consensus among scientists on the exact reasons that an individual develops a particular sexual orientation, and they can only conclude that both nature and nurture play complex roles, and that people experience little or no sense of choice about their sexual orientation.

 

So is homosexuality abnormal? Indeed before the 70s, homosexuality was listed as a sociopathic personality disorder, and it was assumed that homosexuals were mentally unhealthy and maladjusted. But this view changed with increasing evidences from psychological researches. Dr. Evelyn Hooker is a pioneer in the studies of homosexuals beginning in the 50s. Using psychological tests, she discovered that the patterns of thoughts, attitudes, and emotions of homosexual and heterosexual men did not differ significantly, and thus concluded that homosexuals were as psychologically normal as heterosexuals. In conjunction with other empirical results thereafter, they debunked the popular myth that ‘homosexuals are inherently less mentally healthy’, and eventually led the American Psychiatric Association to remove homosexuality from the DSM in 1973, and later stating in the Position Statements on Homosexuality and Civil Rights that ‘homosexuality per se implies no impairment in judgment, reliability or general social and vocational capabilities’. Homosexuality is a normal variant of human sexuality.

 

Since homosexuality is not a disorder but a normal variant of sexuality, it would not be necessary to ‘treat’ them and change their orientation. Indeed the American Psychological Association contends that there is no evidence to show that therapies aimed at changing sexual orientation is safe or effective, but could even be harmful as it could create negative emotions such as anxiety, self-blame, and self-loathing. Sexual orientation is uncontrollable, and is like the situation where you are born to like oranges but hate durians, you can’t control what you like. Of course you can choose durians due to personal beliefs, pressure from the family and society, and religious reasons, yet it doesn’t mean you love durians. If the whole world accused you of being abnormal and try to convert you by forcing you to eat durian everyday, how would you feel? Would you feel happy? And for those of you who are trying to convert people, please understand that even though you like durians, it doesn’t mean others like them as well. Please respect others’ preferences, and don’t hold prejudices against or try to convert others due to their difference in preferences!

 

Prejudices and discrimination only impact negatively on homosexuals’ social lives (e.g. being rejected by family and friends), life opportunities and rights (e.g. losing job opportunities), which increases their psychological burden, putting them at risk for depression and anxiety. In 2011, the American Psychological Association put forward the ‘Position Statements on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, & Transgender (LGBT) Concerns’, deploring all public and private discrimination, hoping to foster a non-discriminative environment to protect mental health of the LGBT community. In fact, what problem would there be if a person is not engaging in behaviours that are destructive to self, others, and social order, but only has unique preferences? Having different preferences doesn’t mean it’s something wrong and requires rectifying. Why can’t we respect others’ preferences? How would you like to be treated if one day your preferences became the minority? Give it some thought.

 

References:

American Psychological Association. (2003). Being Gay Is Just as Healthy as Being Straight. Retrieved from  http://www.apa.org/research/action/gay.aspx

 

American Psychological Association. (2008). Answers to your questions: For a better understanding of sexual orientation and homosexuality. Washington, DC: Author. [Retrieved from www.apa.org/topics/sorientation.pdf. ]

 

American Psychological Association. (2011). Position Statements on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, & Transgender Concerns. Retrieved from https://www.apa.org/about/policy/booklet.pdf

 

Bailey, J.M. & Pillard, R.C. (1991). A genetic study of male sexual orientation. Arch. Gen. Psychiatry 48 (12): 1089–96.

 

National Alliance on Mental Illness. (2007). Mental Health Issues among Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender (GLBT) People. Retrieved from http://www2.nami.org/Content/ContentGroups/Multicultural_Support1/Fact_Sheets1/GLBT_Mental_Health_07.pdf

彩虹下的盟誓

美國聯邦最高法院於2015年6月26日做出堪稱建國二百廿六年來最重大的歷史性判決之一,就是通過全美同性婚姻合法化,並享有異性婚姻同等的權利。對於這個裁決,當然有人贊成也有人反對。反對的理據都離不開宗教、家庭倫理、繁殖等因素。但如果你反對理由的是「同性戀是心理不正常,應該要治療患者而不是容許他們結婚!」,那麽你是時候update一下你的精神健康知識了!

 

討論「同性戀」這主題之前,必須先講述清楚「性傾向」這概念。性傾向是指一個人對男性、女性或兩性產生的持久情感,喜愛、愛情或性吸引的現象。性傾向一般有3類:異性戀(對異性產生情感、愛情或性的吸引);同性戀(對同性產生情感、愛情或性的吸引);雙性戀(對同性和異性都產生情感、愛情或性的吸引)。那麽是什麽導致一個人有特定的性傾向?是先天還是後天影響?有研究顯示先天有部分但不是全部的影響。心理學教授 Michael Bailey嘗試研究非異性戀(即同性戀及雙性戀)的男人的兄弟中有多少也有同性戀傾向,包括他們的同卵孿生兄弟(基因100%吻合)、異卵孿生兄弟(基因只有50%吻合)、及非親生兄弟(基因不相同)。結果發現非異性戀的男人的同卵孿生兄弟中有同性戀傾向的佔52%,異卵孿生兄弟中有同性戀傾向的佔的22%,而非親生兄弟中有同性戀傾向的佔11%。由於基因越相同,有同性戀傾向的機率越高,這證明先天有一定的影響,但也不是全部(因爲不是近乎100%的同卵孿生兄弟有同性戀傾向啊!),後天環境也有一定影響(例如成長經驗、社會及文化的影響)。現時爲止,尚無研究能夠明確證實性傾向是由某個特定因素所引致的,只能夠說先天和後天因素均發揮了複雜的作用,但個人是無法選擇自己的性傾向。

 

那麽會喜歡同性就等如心理不正常嗎?其實於70年代以前,同性戀的確被視爲精神病(是「反社會人格」的其中一種),需要治療去糾正的。但這看法漸漸隨著心理學的研究發現而有所改變。心理學家Evelyn Hooker博士是首位於50年代開始以科學的方法研究同性戀者的人。她找來一班同性戀者,以不同的心理測試評估他們的思想、態度、及情緒,並與異性戀者作比較,結果發現兩羣人的精神狀態並沒有明顯的分別。她的發現引起日後其他學者於這方面的研究,並累積了越來越多的證據顯示同性戀者及異性戀者的精神狀態並沒有明顯的分別,慢慢就打破了「同性戀是精神異常」這迷思。Hooker博士及日後其他研究人員的研究結果促使了美國精神醫學學會(American Psychiatric Association)於1973年將同性戀自精神疾病中刪除,不再把同性戀視爲精神病(即是思想行爲有異常而嚴重影響日常生活的腦部問題),並後來發表正式決議(Position Statements on Homosexuality and Civil Rights),表示「同性戀本質上並不會損害一個人的判斷力、穩定性、可靠性或是整體的社會和職業能力」。同性戀性傾向仍人類性傾向的其中一種正常類別。

 

既然同性戀並非精神病,那麽就不用「治療」他們,改變他們的性傾向。其實美國心理學會(American Psychological Association)也曾表示有研究指出這些嘗試改變性傾向「治療」有可能反而為參加者帶來焦慮、自責、討厭自己等負面情緒。事實上,性傾向也並非由個人控制得到的,情況就如你天生喜歡吃橙,不喜歡吃榴蓮一樣,你不能控制自己喜歡什麽。當然,你可以因爲個人信念、家庭及社會壓力、信仰等原因影響而選擇買榴蓮,但不代表你真心喜歡榴蓮。如果全世界説你不正常而改變你的喜好,逼你每天吃榴蓮,你會感到怎樣?你會幸福嗎?意圖逼人改變的人也請留意,你喜歡吃榴蓮不代表其他人喜歡吃榴蓮啊!請尊重別人的喜好,不要因爲別人的喜好不同而逼他們改變或歧視他們啊!

 

歧視會負面地影響同性戀者的社交生活(例如不被家人、朋友接納)、社會的待遇及權利(例如失去就業機會),加重同性戀者的心理負擔,讓他們更大機會患上情緒病或焦慮症。美國心理學學會也於2011年發表了正式決議(Position Statements on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, & Transgender Concerns),呼籲全世界的健康、精神病組織及精神病學家致力於去除針對同性戀的污名,減少對他們的歧視,保護他們的精神健康。其實只要一個人不是做傷害人、傷害自己、或違法並影響公衆利益的行爲,縱使他的喜好跟大衆不一樣,那又有什麽問題呢?別人的喜好跟大衆不一樣不等如是「錯」或需要糾正,爲何不尊重個人的喜好呢?如果有一天你的喜好成爲非主流,你希望別人怎樣對待你?請好好想一想。

 

參考資料:

美國心理學學會。(2008 年)。解答你的問題:深入理解性傾向和同性戀(Answers to your questions for a better under-standing of sexual orientation and homosexuality)。華盛頓特區:作者。[檢索於

http://www.apa.org/topics/lgbt/chinese-orientation.pdf  ]

 

American Psychological Association. (2003). Being Gay Is Just as Healthy as Being Straight. Retrieved from  http://www.apa.org/research/action/gay.aspx

 

American Psychological Association. (2011). Position Statements on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, & Transgender Concerns. Retrieved from https://www.apa.org/about/policy/booklet.pdf

 

Bailey, J.M. & Pillard, R.C. (1991). A genetic study of male sexual orientation. Arch. Gen. Psychiatry 48 (12): 1089–96.

 

National Alliance on Mental Illness. (2007). Mental Health Issues among Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender (GLBT) People. Retrieved from http://www2.nami.org/Content/ContentGroups/Multicultural_Support1/Fact_Sheets1/GLBT_Mental_Health_07.pdf