Reaching Out for the Suicidal

Reaching Out for the Suicidal

 

Recently there is a series of suicides among teenagers, leaving the society feeling sorry for the loss of young lives, and drawing public attention to the issue of mental health in teenagers. So what in fact drive the teenagers to commit suicide? Is it simply caused by a single setback in life (e.g. failing in an exam, being reprimanded by parents), as suggested by the media? And as Teens, how can we identify friends who are at risk for suicide? What can we do to reduce their risk of attempting suicide?

 

Causes of Teenage Suicide

The causes for teenage suicide is complex, and cannot be explained by a single factor, but rather an interplay of multiple factors including biological, psychological, and social. Past research findings revealed that as high as 90% of teenagers who attempted suicide are suffering from some kind of mental disorder, and the most common ones are Major Depressive Disorder and Bipolar Disorder. Both disorders can cause teenagers to have low / irritable mood, loss of interest in activities that they enjoyed in the past, social withdrawal, reduction or increase in appetite, sleeping less or more than before, fatigue and loss of motivation, concentration difficulties, negative thinking (e.g. feeling hopeless, worthless, thinking that life is meaningless), and even self-harm or suicidal ideation.

 

Apart from mental health problems, teenagers who face problems in life for a prolonged period of time and not having effective ways to cope also have an increased risk of suicide. Such as failing to reach their ideal standard of academic achievement despite continuous effort; being bullied; being in a dysfunctional family, often being criticized, blamed, or not enjoying a close relationship with family, causing the teenager to feel unloved…

 

When teenagers face the above issues or even a combination of them for a prolonged period of time, and at the same time lack appropriate support and effective coping strategies, their suicidal ideation may be triggered by an event that produces feelings of failure or loss, such as receiving a bad grade on an exam, having an argument, breaking up with a partner. The teenagers may think they have no way out, and committing suicide is the only solution.

 

Identifying At-Risk Teenagers

To identify teenagers at risk for suicide, we can pay close attention to whether they exhibit some of the aforementioned symptoms of depression and see if they are struggling with life difficulties for a prolonged period of time. Special attention can be paid to the content of their speech, whether they had expressed feelings of hopelessness, feeling that life is meaningless, feeling ‘unbearable’, or even mentioning about death and preparing for it (e.g. giving away prized items, writing a suicide note).

 

Some people believe that those who talk about won’t in fact do it. This is indeed a great myth! Researchers pointed that those who mentioned about suicide are at greater risk for it than those who did not. So if someone mentions suicide, please take it seriously!

 

Helping Suicidal Teenagers

So what can we do if we suspect our classmate is contemplating suicide, or if a young person revealed to us their suicidal ideation?

  1. Directly ask whether they had contemplated suicide. Some people worry that this may give teenagers the idea when talking about suicide. But this is invalid, because teenagers do not need suggestion by others to contemplate suicide. Directly asking the at-risk teenagers can in fact help by giving us a clearer idea of their thoughts (e.g. whether they had actually planned it), and offer them more appropriate support.
  2. Listen to them, give them an opportunity to express their suppressed feelings. This can help reduce their sense of loneliness, and can possibly reduce their impulse to commit suicide. A lot of times when people listen, they may offer suggestions to teenagers, teaching them how to cope with the problems out of good will; or even tell them that it’s ‘unwise’ or ‘unfilial’ to commit suicide, hoping that the teenagers would change their minds. In fact offering suggestions and judging them would only leave them feeling worse about themselves and their coping abilities. So next time when you listen, just listen attentively without jumping to advice or judgment.
  3. Encourage or accompany the teenager to seek help. Remember not to handle the situation alone, and encourage the teenager or even accompany him/her to seek appropriate help, for example from a school social worker or a doctor. We need to proactively offer them help as suicidal teenagers often do not believe they can be helped early on.
  4. Take care of yourself. While you can support your friend who is suicidal and encourage him or her to seek help, don't take responsibility for making your friend well. Ultimately, he or she has to make a personal commitment to get help and recover, not you. At the same time, understand that helping someone who thinks about ending his or her own life can stir up many difficult emotions, so don't forget to take care of yourself. Find someone that you trust (e.g. friend, family, school social worker) to talk to about your feelings and get support of your own.

 

Crisis Hotlines

Suicide Prevention Services

23820000

The Samaritan Befrienders Hong Kong

23892222

The Samaritans

28960000

HKFYG Hotline

27778899

Breakthrough Counselling Centre

23778511

Caritas Family Crisis Support Centre

18288

 

References

American Academy of Pediatrics. (2007). Teen Suicide, Mood Disorder, and Depression. Retrieved from http://westernwakewellness.com/PatientDocs/depression_and_suicide.pdf

 

Suicide Prevention. (2016). In HelpGuide.org. Retrieved from http://www.helpguide.org/articles/suicide-prevention/suicide-prevention-helping-someone-who-is-suicidal.htm

 

Teen Suicide Statistics. (2015). In Healthychildren.org. Retrieved from https://www.healthychildren.org/English/health-issues/conditions/emotional-problems/Pages/Teen-Suicide-Statistics.aspx

尋見‧尋短見的人

尋見尋短見的人

 

近日接二連三發生青少年自殺事件,除了讓人感到惋惜外,也令社會各界人士對於青少年的精神健康倍加關注。到底青少年有什麽原因自殺呢?是否如報紙所報道般簡單,在他們面對單一負面事情(如考試成績不理想、被父母責駡)後就促成呢?作爲Teen使們,我們如何識別有自殺傾向的年輕朋友呢?我們又可以做什麽去減低身邊的朋友們自殺的可能性呢?

 

青少年自殺原因

其實自殺的原因很複雜,並非能由單一因素去解釋,而是一籃子的生理、心理、以及環境因素互相影響下促成。外國的研究指出,高達90%自殺的青少年其實是患有精神病,而當中絕大部分是患有抑鬱症或者躁狂抑鬱症。抑鬱症或躁狂抑鬱症能使患者情緒低落或暴躁、對喜歡做的事情失去興趣、社交退縮(不想見人)、胃口轉差或者增加、睡眠質素變差或者嗜睡、經常感到疲倦乏力及失去動力做事、難以集中精神做事、思想變得負面(對將來感到絕望、認爲自己一無是處、認爲生存毫無意義)、嚴重甚至有自殘的行爲和自殺的傾向。

 

除了精神健康問題,長期面對生活的困難而缺乏支援以及有效的解難能力或方法,也可增加青少年自殺的風險。例如他們可能重視成績但儘管付出努力成績卻長期未如理想;他們可能長期受到朋輩欺淩;他們可能長期與家人關係欠佳,常被責駡或關係疏離以致感到不被關愛……當青少年受到以上問題,甚至多種問題長期困擾,卻沒有得到支援,或者缺乏有效的解難能力或方法,萬一該青少年再遇上挫折,如考試成績不理想、跟重視的人吵架、分手等事情,就可能讓他認爲已經沒有出路,而自殺就是唯一的解決方法。

 

識別有自殺傾向的青少年

要識別有自殺傾向的青少年,我們可小心留意青少年是否有文章早前提及的抑鬱症病徵以及長期受生活問題困擾。尤其留意其言談是否透露對將來感到無望、認爲生命沒有意義、對目前的困苦已經再承受不了等字眼,以及有否提及死亡或者準備安排死後的事情(例如把重要的物件交托給人、寫遺書)。

 

有些人以爲說會自殺的人其實是不會實行,真正會實行的是不會說出口,這想法其實是大錯特錯!專家指出,提及過自殺的人比起沒有提及過的是有更高的自殺風險。所以如果有人向你提及自殺,請認真對待!

 

幫助有自殺傾向的青少年

那麽,如果Teen使們懷疑身邊有同學想自殺,或者有年輕朋友向我們透露過想自殺我們又應該怎樣做?

  1. 主動問他們有否想過自殺。有人擔心這樣做好像反而「提醒」他們去尋死,其實這擔心是不真確的。如果他們真的有此念頭的話,不用身邊人提及他們自己也能想到。主動詢問反而更能清楚了解他們的狀況(例如是否已經計劃好如何尋死),更能給予他們適切的支援。
  2. 聆聽他們,給他們機會宣洩埋藏了的感受。這樣能減低他們的孤獨感,或有助減低他們自殺的衝動。聆聽別人的時候,很多人會出於關心地給青少年很多意見,教他們如何解決生活問題;甚至勸誡青少年想自殺是「愚蠢」或「不孝」的行爲,希望他們停止這種想法。其實給予意見或者這樣批判反而令青少年感到更難受,讓他們感到自己好像連解決方法也做不出來,以及自己是個差勁的人。所以聆聽時,只需要聆聽就可,不必說太多話或給予意見及批判。
  3. 鼓勵及陪伴青少年尋求專業協助。記住不要自己一個人處理,切記要鼓勵甚至陪伴青少年找適當的協助,例如找學校社工、醫生等。我們應主動關心有自殺傾向的青少年,因爲他們可能一開始不相信有人能幫助他們脫困,不主動尋求支援,所以身邊人應更爲主動。
  4. 照顧自己。作爲朋友你當然可以支持及鼓勵有自殺傾向的朋友求助,但切忌把朋友復元的責任「攬上身」,因爲説到底,求助及復元的責任都是在當事人身上而不是在旁人身上。與此同時,請緊記支援有自殺傾向的人可以在你心中產生很多負面情緒,所以請不要忘記照顧自己。你可以找你信任的人(例如朋友、家人、學校社工)分憂,舒緩自己的負面情緒。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

參考資料:

American Academy of Pediatrics. (2007). Teen Suicide, Mood Disorder, and Depression. Retrieved from http://westernwakewellness.com/PatientDocs/depression_and_suicide.pdf

 

Suicide Prevention. (2016). In HelpGuide.org. Retrieved from http://www.helpguide.org/articles/suicide-prevention/suicide-prevention-helping-someone-who-is-suicidal.htm

 

Teen Suicide Statistics. (2015). In Healthychildren.org. Retrieved from https://www.healthychildren.org/English/health-issues/conditions/emotional-problems/Pages/Teen-Suicide-Statistics.aspx