Pokemon, Go Improve Our Mental Health

Some time ago an augmented reality game was released, stirring a craze among both adults and children all over the world, transforming them into diligent trainers who would literally go to great lengths to catch ‘em all. But not only is the game challenging and entertaining, it could possibly improve the mental health of people!

 

In overseas internet forums, a woman shared that she had been suffering from depression and was largely home bound. But the game gave her motivation to go out of her house, and made her walk long distances, which in effect is exercising, and it helped relieve her symptoms. Another person reported that his sister was diagnosed with Social Anxiety Disorder, and was extremely fearful in talking with stranger. Yet because of the game, she started interacting with other stranger trainers in her area, and they would excitedly exchange information and tips in playing. There was also a father who said on the internet that after his aloof son who was diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder downloaded the game, he started initiating conversations related to the game with other children, and even spontaneously invited children in his neighborhood to catch Pokemons together.

 

The game certainly gives people a reason to get out of their houses, exercise, communicate with others, and explore their neighbourhood. These are things that help improve mood in people, especially for people suffering from mental illnesses who lack the drive to get active and socialize. Thus this game may help in their recovery. But be cautioned that since there are individual differences in the responses to games, and to psychologists who emphasize evidence-based treatments, the lack of large-scale systematic researches made it hard to conclude that the game must be beneficial to mental health. The only evidence-based treatments for mental disorders remain to be medication, psychotherapy, and rehabilitation and training.

 

Finally, just a word of caution to all players: please play safely and in moderation, because a doctor friend said that recently there had been a rise in the number of people seeking treatment due to overuse of muscles, as they change suddenly from being sedentary to very active due to the game.

 

Reference:

Lees, K., & Science, W. R. (2016). PokéMon Go Update: PokéMon Go Helps Players Deal With Depression, Other Mental Health Conditions. Health & Medicine : Science World Report, 2016-7.

精神健康捉精靈

較早前有一隻瘋魔全球的擴增實境(Augmented Reality)遊戲推出,無論大人小孩也十分熱衷成爲「訓練員」,廢寢忘餐地四出尋找「小精靈」,日夜鍛煉去取勝。除了具挑戰性及娛樂性,原來這個遊戲更可能有助精神健康呢!

 

外國有網民稱自己患有抑鬱症,多年鮮有出門,但因爲遊戲的緣故令她再次有動力出門,還每天行走不短的路程,變相每天做運動,讓她的抑鬱症舒緩了。另外有網民說他妹妹患有社交焦慮症,很害怕跟陌生人説話,但因爲遊戲,她開始在街上跟其他陌生的訓練員互動,更興高采烈談起小精靈,互相交換心得。也有網上一位爸爸說他患有自閉症的兒子多年來都不合群,但兒子下載了遊戲後就有所改變,他變得主動跟其他小孩子談論遊戲,更主動邀請鄰居的孩子們一同去捉小精靈。

 

的確,這個遊戲能夠鼓勵人們出門、走路、跟人交談、探索社區,這些元素對於提升正面情緒皆有幫助。尤其對於精神病患者來説,他們普遍缺乏動力跟人社交、做運動,而這個遊戲正好給他們很大的推動力去做這些有益精神健康的事情,可能有利於他們的康復。不過,由於不同人對於此遊戲可能有不同反應,而且對於嚴謹的心理學家來説,由於現階段未有關於此遊戲的大型研究,故此暫時還未能確實地說這遊戲對於精神健康有幫助。說到具科學實證治有效治療精神病的方法還是離不開藥物、心理治療、以及復康訓練。

 

最後,在此必須要提醒大家,玩的時候要注意安全,而且要適可而止。因爲有醫生朋友告訴筆者最近真的多了人因爲一直缺乏運動,忽然玩了此遊戲後一下子多了活動,身體有勞損呢!

 

參考資料:

Lees, K., & Science, W. R. (2016). PokéMon Go Update: PokéMon Go Helps Players Deal With Depression, Other Mental Health Conditions. Health & Medicine : Science World Report, 2016-7.